Bidhannagar, the most important satellite town of the city of Kolkata is situated on the eastern edge of the city. Bidhannagar is named after Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy, the first Chief Minister of West Bengal, who came up with the township idea to relieve the rising population pressure on Kolkata. The original township was called Salt Lake, which was later renamed as Bidhannagar. On 18th June 2015, Government of West Bengal expressed its intention vide notification number 244/MA/O/C-4/1A-12/2012 dated 6th May 2015 published through Kolkata Gazette Extraordinary on 7th May 2015 to constitute the municipal areas of Bidhannagar and Rajarhat-Gopalpur and Panchayat areas of Mahishbathan-II Gram Panchayat, constituted under the WBMA, 1993 and the West Bengal Panchayat Act, 1973 respectively, a Municipal Corporation are with head office at Bidhannagar in the district of North 24 Parganas under section 3 of the WBMCA 2006.  The board of council is constituted on 16th October 2015. The BMC falls under the administrative jurisdiction of Bidhannagar subdivision in the district of North 24 Parganas and police jurisdiction of Bidhannagar city police.

The BMC geographically spread with One (1) Head office at Bidhannagar, Six (6) Borough offices and Forty One (41) ward offices across the jurisdiction of the BMC boundary under the aegis of Department Municipal Affairs & Urban Development, Government of West Bengal. The boundary of BMC covers around 55.51 Sq. Km. of total Kolkata Metropolitan Area of 1886.67 Sq. Km. catering services to 6.34 lakhs population (19.26% SC & 1.73% ST) which is 1.27% of Kolkata Metropolitan Area population and 0.68% of State population covering approximately 1.47 lakhs households. Ward wise population is listed in BMC Profile. This includes 1.17 lakhs households of Rajarhat (ward no. 1 to 26) and 26,000 households of Salt Lake (ward no. 29 to 40) excluding ward no. 27, 28, 35 & 36 which do not fall under tax purview because it is mostly covered with waterbodies and comparatively less density. It is surrounded with Madhyam Gram Municipality and North Dum Dum Municipality on North, Rajarhat Block on South, Housing Infrastructure Development Corporation (HIDCO) New Town on East and South Dum Dum Municipality on West side.


Search Results
Web Result with Site Links
Municipal Affairs: Department of Urban Development

From Mayor's Desk   |   Birth Registration   |  Death Registration   |   Property Tax   |   Trade Licence   |   Booking of Facilities    |   Site Map   |   Home